Chamber of Commerce celebrates outstanding achievements in agriculture with 2024 agri-business luncheon & expo

Award Recipients with Secretary of State Frank LaRose

DARKE COUNTY – The Darke County Chamber of Commerce is thrilled to announce the recipients of the 2024 Ag Awards, recognizing exemplary contributions and achievements in the agricultural sector. These awards celebrate the dedication, innovation, and commitment of individuals and organizations shaping the agricultural landscape in Darke County and beyond.

The winners of the 2024 Ag Awards are as follows:

1. **Agriculture Achievement Award**: Mr. Sam Custer has been a staple in the agricultural industry for decades. From his start as advisor of the Versailles FFA to Miami Valley CTC to Ohio State Extension. Sam is well respected throughout Ohio, and his impact on the agriculture industry continues to grow as his passion for agriculture never ends. 

2. **Agriculture Advocacy Award**: Darke County Farm Bureau is a grassroots membership organization that is committed to supporting our farm and food community. The Farm Bureau is focused on growing the next generation of farmers and producers in Ohio. Along with trusted organizations like The Ohio State University, FFA and 4-H, Farm Bureau helps to promote career pathways, ag literacy and provide economic opportunity, networking opportunities and leadership development for young farmers. From advocating for policies that safeguard our farmers’ rights to providing invaluable resources and educational opportunities, the Farm Bureau stands as a steadfast ally for those who till the soil and tend to the land.

3. **Young Farmer Award**: Our Young Farmer Award Recipient is Aaron Overholser. Aaron is a forward-thinking farmer, not only focused on his current farming business, but also how he will leave the land for future generations. Aaron understands the value of family, hard work, and focus and puts all of those values into not just his farm but also his community. 

“These awards highlight the remarkable achievements and contributions of individuals and organizations shaping the agricultural landscape in Darke County,” said Rachel Neal, President of the Darke County Chamber of Commerce. “We extend our heartfelt congratulations to all the winners for their outstanding dedication, innovation, and commitment to advancing agriculture in our community.”

The Darke County Chamber of Commerce was honored to host Aaron Wilson with OSU Extension as keynote speaker for the Agri-Business Luncheon. With his unparalleled expertise and charismatic delivery, Aaron left a lasting impact on our audience, sharing invaluable insights and perspectives on Ag Weather and its impacts and trends from 2023 into 2024. His engaging presentation resonated deeply with attendees, igniting inspiration and fostering meaningful conversations long after the event concluded. The Chamber is truly appreciative of Aaron’s contribution to making the event a resounding success.

Keynote Speaker Aaron Wilson

The Darke County Chamber of Commerce gratefully acknowledges the invaluable support from our sponsors and supporters whose generosity has made the 2024 Ag Awards a reality: Event Sponsor: GNB Banking Center; Gold Sponsors: Daily Advocate, Darke Rural Electric Cooperative, Cooper Farms, Spirit Emergency Medical Services, Park National Bank, and The Andersons; Silver Sponsors: Darke County Farmer’s Union, Edison State Community College, EverHeart Hospice, Farm Service Agency, First Choice Realty, Fry & Co. Graves-Fearon Agency Nationwide, Holiday Inn Express, Jon Coomer Investment Management, King’s Poultry Farm, Lawn Plus LLC, Moriroku Technology North America, Inc., Poeppelman Materials & PEPCON, Premier Crop Insurance, ProMedica 360Health, Theodore O. Finnarn, Ag Law. 

Many thanks also go to these elected officials for their efforts in preparing commendations for our esteemed award winners: Congressman Warren Davidson, Governor Mike DeWine, Lt. Governor Jon Husted, Secretary of State Frank LaRose, Treasurer of State Robert Sprague, Senate President Matt Huffman, Senator Steve Huffman, Representative Angie King and Darke County Commissioners Larry Holmes, Matt Aultman and Marshall Combs. Additionally, we commend the nominees for their unwavering excellence and steadfast dedication to advancing the agricultural industry.”

**About the Darke County Chamber of Commerce: **

The Darke County Chamber of Commerce is dedicated to promoting economic growth, community development, and business success in Darke County, Ohio. Through advocacy, networking, and support, the Chamber serves as a catalyst for business growth and prosperity in the region.

For more information about the Darke County Chamber of Commerce and its initiatives, please visit or contact our office at 937-548-2102.